An Open Letter to Running

Dear Running,

While we’ve gotten to know each other a bit over the last month, I wanted to formally introduce myself.

Hi. I’m Emily. I’ve never been a big fan of you but like an idiot I signed up for a half marathon. I wanted to challenge myself. And, boy, have you not disappointed.

To be blunt, you are awful. Every time we get together, I want to punch you in the face. You have a unique way of making me feel like I’m my 80 year old grandmother. (hi Nannie!) Did I do something to offend you?

I’ve heard, from those that enjoy you, that there is something known as a runner’s high. That eventually running will feel great, euphoric even. Well, I think they’re high off something, but it’s not running.

Running, we’re never going to be friends. But one day I hope to consider you an acquaintance; a contact that I say hi to as I pass on the street or someone who I occasionally stalk on Facebook. Until then, I will curse every mile that we hang out.

On another note, thanks for bringing me closer to my buddy, ibuprofen.

Sincerely,
Emily

This entry was posted in 13 point what? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Open Letter to Running

  1. Sus says:

    This is hilarious! You are going to be BFF come January!

  2. Steven says:

    Oh em gee…I had no idea you had a blog. Shoutout to ibuprofen!

  3. NANNIE says:

    I SO TOTALLY AGREE. I HAVE NEVER TRIED RUNNING-WALKING IS PLENTY FAST ENOUGH AND I DON’T LIKE IT ABIT. XXXXXNANNIE

  4. Lesley says:

    I have yet to experience the runner’s high…also doubting it’s existence.

  5. Teri says:

    Hey Emily!

    I absolutely love your blog and reading it makes me miss seeing your face at the Theta house! I just wanted to let you know that I have full faith in you that you can run this half marathon! I ran my first this past summer! I have been running regularly for a while now and might have had the runner’s high a couple times and the rest of the time I hate it! I truly look at running as a way to burn calories and that is what keeps me going!

    Good luck with your training!

  6. Pingback: Another Open Letter to Running | punctuation marks

Leave a Reply

