Homemade Marshmallows

Word on the street is that homemade marshmallows are amazing. Earlier this week, I set out to determine if the street knows what it’s talking about.

I used this Martha Stewart recipe because, well, I trust Martha when it comes to these things. Also, a waiter I had recently suggested Martha’s recipe. Why was I talking to a waiter about homemade marshmallow recipes, you ask. That’s a valid question.

After you've boiled your main ingredients, get your whisk on. I didn't have a candy thermometer but used the estimated boil time and it worked out fine.

The gelatin creates this nice block of what appears to be a massive amount of Elmer's glue.

After letting the elmer's glue sit for a few hours, you cut the marshmallow blob into blocks and roll them in powdered sugar.

After letting the Elmer's glue, er I mean, marshmallow sit for a few hours, cut the blob into blocks and roll them in powdered sugar.

Finally, you've got homemade marshmallows!

Upon completion of the marshmallows, I sampled one. My initial reaction was, ‘meh.’ I could definitely taste the vanilla which was nice but I also got hints of the corn syrup which wasn’t nice. I thought to myself, the street’s an idiot. Homemade marshmallows are definitely not worth the effort.

But then I toasted the mallows for s’mores. Here’s where exciting things started to happen. The powdered sugar creates this amazing caramelized coating. The corn syrup flavor disappears and you’re left with a marshmallow meets creme brule treat.

Don't have a stick or a campfire? Use a letter opener and a lighter instead.

VERDICT: If you like to pop marshmallows straight from the bag, stick with the one’s you can find at the grocery store. If you’re making s’mores or you want a special treat in your hot cocoa, make and toast the homemade version.

Martha’s recipe yields a lot of marshmallows. I’m excited to try them in rice krispie treats and in the s’more recipes I found in this book which I picked up at the library last week.

Side bar: Can we talk about how amazing public libraries are? Our childhood called and it wants us to go check out books at the library, for free.

Have you ever made homemade marshmallows? What’s your take on them?

This entry was posted in i want to be the barefoot contessa and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Marshmallows

  1. NANNIE says:

    I AM TOTALLY AMAZED THAT YOU WOULD TRY HOME MADE MARSHMELLOWS. I THINK I WILL STICK WITH STORE BOUGHT–THEY HAVE LASTED ME FOR MANY YEARS.N.

Leave a Reply

