Can We Talk About…

These are some of my random thoughts over the last few days, none of which could pan out to an entire blog entry. Nonetheless, they are important things and I thought we, dear Internet, should discuss.

Can we talk about the show Man v. Food? Have you seen it? I have a strange obsession with the host, Adam Richman. I can’t explain it but I want to be his friend and possibly learn how he hasn’t yet had a heart attack. Mom, I know you were uncomfortable with Ali as a potential son-in-law, what about Adam? Also, he has a new book that I might need to read.

Can we talk about public libraries? I alluded to this in my previous post on homemade marshmallows (scroll down or click here if you don’t know what I’m talking about). But seriously, how great are public libraries? You can check out a cookbook, Season 3 of One Tree Hill and Oprah’s latest book club selection, all at once, FOR FREE? The newest DC public library just opened 4 blocks from my house and I couldn’t be happier. Also, speaking of homemade marshmallows, I used them to make delicious rice krispie treats this past weekend.

Can we talk about college football? (To my Auburn and Oregon friends, you can ignore this as the Oklahoma State achievements may pale in comparison to yours). Actually, on second thought, can we not talk about how well Oklahoma State is doing for fear that we might jinx it? Can we not talk about how OState beat all four Big 12 Texas schools which is a first in school history? Can we also not talk about how we stand a good chance at beating OU and playing Nebraska in the Big 12 Championship? Oh dear, I’ve already said too much.

Can we talk about how the second most wonderful time of the year is fast approaching (the first being the fall)? Don’t get me wrong, Thanksgiving is great. I don’t want to skip Thanksgiving. I want to bask in the greatness that begins next week and continues through the end of the year. But, I want to listen to Christmas music now. So, sue me.

Can we talk about Pinterest? Pinterest is a website where you can catalog all the things you love. You like to look at pictures of puppies? You can create a board and pin all the cute puppy pictures that you find on the internet. You can also find and follow other people who like to look at pictures of puppies. I realize that, to some, this sounds like a waste of time. And it is. But it’s an awesome waste of time. For someone like me, who has taken to saving images of home/clothing/food/craft/wedding/party inspiration to a folder on my desktop, Pinterest is a virtual way to store and view it all.

Finally, can we talk about how Prince William and Kate Middleton got engaged? Welp, there goes that childhood dream.

This entry was posted in can we talk about... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can We Talk About…

  1. Ashley Robbins says:

    Emily,

    I LOVE reading this! You are a great writer and not to mention hilarious! I’m glad you started it, keep it coming! 🙂

    Ashley

  2. Cori says:

    I love Adam Richman! Please marry him.

  3. Pingback: Can We Talk About a Few Things Real Quick | punctuation marks

Leave a Reply

