Mumps’ Pumpkin Chiffon

Even though Thanksgiving has come and gone, I couldn’t resist sharing one of my favorite recipes. Also, if you’re like me, you appreciate pumpkin desserts any time of the year. (And if you’re really like me, you bought two huge cans of pumpkin and you don’t want them to go to waste so you plan on making pumpkin desserts throughout December.)

This is my great-grandmother, Mumps’, recipe for Pumpkin Chiffon. I never got to meet her, but from what I hear she was pretty great. If her selection of food (or her offspring) is any indication, I’m thinking she was awesome.

I love making Pumpkin Chiffon. It makes me feel like I’m connected to my great-grandmother in an alternate yummy food universe. My mother remembers Mumps making it when she was little and I remember my grandmother, Nannie, making it when I was little. I’m counting on my mother to master the recipe so that she can make it when I have kids (not to worry, Mom, you’ve got lots of time).

Ingredients
1 envelope gelatin
1/4 cup cold water
1 + 1/4 cups pumpkin
1/2 cup milk
3 eggs
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar (divided)

Directions
1. To slightly beaten egg yolks, add 1/2 cup sugar, pumpkin, milk, salt and spices.
2. Cook in double boiler until thick.
3. Pour cold water in bowl and sprinkle gelatin on top of water. Still well and add to pumpkin mixture.
4. Mix well and cool.
5. When it begins to thicken, add remaining sugar and fold in stiffly beaten egg whites.
6. Pour into baked pastry shells* and chill in refrigerator.
7. Serve with whipped cream and wait for the ooohs and aaahs. (I may have added that last part. Wouldn’t it have been great if Mumps had written that in the recipe, though?)

*Mumps served her Pumpkin Chiffon in mini pie shells, as does my grandmother. Clearly the mini-pie-shell-baking gene did not get passed to me, because my mini pie shells turn out like pancakes with little to no shell structure. As a note, the chiffon is also delicious sans shell with a dollop of whipped cream.

This entry was posted in i want to be the barefoot contessa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mumps’ Pumpkin Chiffon

  1. NANNIE says:

    OH, EMILY, MY MOTHER WOULD BE SO VERY THRILLED WITH YOU. ONCE UPON A TIME, THE SHAWNEE NEWS STAR (EVENING PAPER) PUBLISHED A PICTURE OF MOM AND SEVERAL OF HER RECIPES. I WILL LOOK FOR THE ARTICLE AND SEND IT TO YOU. YOU ARE FOLLOWING IN HER FOOTSTEPS AS A QUEEN OF BAKING. XXXN.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Ditto Em! I only remember Mumps smell. She smelled like roses. I am so impressed you made this! I always wait to have it handed to me and then I oh and ahhh every time. And yes, so so awesome if she had included that. Nannie so would have 😉

Leave a Reply

