Running, I’m Just Not That Into You

A month before I ran the Disney half-marathon I signed up for yesterday’s Cherry Blossom Ten Miler. I was in the heart of my training and feeling great about running. What I didn’t anticipate is that after completing the half-marathon, I wouldn’t want to run another mile. Ever.

In hindsight, I should have bowed out of the ten miler gracefully. Noting that I’d maybe run a cumulative ten miles since January, I should have switched to the 5K.  I shouldn’t have spent all last week hoping for an illness or an injury that would prevent me from participating in the full race.

When Sunday morning came, I decided to give it a try. In the midst of a beautiful April morning in D.C., I made up my own race: the Cherry Blossom Five Miler. To the spectators just after the 5-mile marker, thanks for clearing the way so I could get off the course.

In related news, this is an actual Goggle Chat conversation that took place this morning:

Lauren:  I have a plan for you on our birthday weekend…

Me:  Ok.

Lauren:  Army 10 Miler. It will be a good thing for us to keep training for the Mexico competition.

[Side Note: The Mexico competition is a weight loss contest created by Amb in preparation of our sibling’s destination wedding.]

Me:  I think I am done with running. I’ve filed for divorce. We’re going to be legally separated soon.

Lauren:  I don’t think so.

Me:  Yes. It’s over. I just don’t think we’re a good match.

Lauren:  You can have some time apart, but nothing involving the courts.

Me:  It was a great relationship. I learned a lot about myself and my needs. Running just isn’t my soul mate. It’s ok. I’m going to be ok. I think he’s taking it a lot harder than I am.

Lauren:  Are you saying “it’s not you, it’s me?”

Me:  Exactly.

This entry was posted in 13 point what?, why don't we have our own reality tv show? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running, I’m Just Not That Into You

  1. Lorraine Powelson says:

    Bravo Emily! Good effort – there are lots of “Fish in the Sea” – i.e. “running” is not the only one

  2. NANNIE says:

    You do just what you want, Emmaliz, you are perfect however you want. Running sounds like exercise to me. xxxxxn.

Leave a Reply

